WRITER’S BLOCK???

IG Writers BLOCK wp 7-22-17

I believe writer’s block is overused. Yes, it can be attributed to some of the questions listed in the above photo. You can write a card, a shopping list, a poem, an essay or a song. As long as you are writing something, you’re a writer. I’m a Renaissance gal and have diverse interests. Writing is only one of them. There are so many wonderful things in this world to experience and all those experiences will help you as a writer…even the horrid ones. Many often ask me why I do not continue my two published books as a series. Here are a few reasons why I am not motivated to do so:

1) The publishing markets, both indie and traditional, are saturated and the Amazon book sales are not great. At least when you are an indie author, you are your own boss. When you have an agent and/or publisher, they dictate and pressure you to produce. If your books do not sell, they will drop you. A famous author once said to me the system is designed to keep you out. I like being an indie author. I want to work at my own pace. Editing, formatting and marketing are a lot of work. I do not have a personal assistant and/or secretary. I have to do everything myself and pay others to help me accomplish a project. It can be challenging and costly.

2) I have so many ideas and outlines of stories and not one of them is resonating with me. When I decide, I will focus on getting it done as quickly as I can. It must be something unique and original or it is not worth the time and effort.

3) I have a life to live and many responsibilities as most of us do. Bills, cleaning, errands, shopping, breathing, etc. I’d love to win the lottery, sit on a beach and contemplate the meaning of life. I live in the REAL world of things to do, people to meet, relatives to dodge, friends to enjoy and places to visit.

Thanks for reading, and I wish all of you the best at whatever you decide to do with your life. Above all, enjoy the journey, have fun and do what you love.

 

GIF BW YOU ARE LOVELY ETC

 

 

 

 

 

About MG WELLS

M.G. Wells is an author, artist, playwright and screenwriter. Encouraged and supported by her colorful grandparents at an early age for her numerous artistic talents, M.G. strives to create a diverse body of work to entertain and inspire. http://amazon.com/author/mgwells https://twitter.com/MG_WELLS http://www.shelfari.com/MGWELLS http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4492558.M_G_Wells
This entry was posted in Indie Author, Writer's Block, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to WRITER’S BLOCK???

  1. Best post I’ve read this week!

    I don’t understand the obsession with sending countless query letters to find an agent to obtain a publishing contract. It doesn’t guarantee a bestseller or even ‘success.’ I thought writers write because they have to, not to be traditionally published. I saw a post from a guy last week lamenting the one-hundred and thirty-seven rejection letters he’d received THIS YEAR – and now he has writer’s block. Huh? Why does anyone put themselves through that?

    Just write… improve your craft. Live – take up a new hobby. Step away slowly from that book about improving your query letters you’re about to buy. 😀 😉

    Enjoy your weekend! 😉

  2. Anne Clare says:

    Thanks for this, and for your perspective on your indie publishing experience! Getting ready to jump into that oversaturated mess for the first time, it’s nice to hear someone with an outlook on it all that makes sense to me 🙂

  3. cigarman501 says:

    I find the best cure for writer’s block is a Jack Daniels or two. Write snookered, edit sober.

  4. milliethom says:

    I agree with everything you say about fitting writing in with living in the real world, and with what you say about the publishing industry. Writing and self publishing is definitely hard and costly, but being your own boss has its merits. Great post, MG. Thanks for sharing.

  5. MG WELLS says:

    I appreciate you taking the time to share, Millie. Enjoy the journey!

  6. Yeah, this whole notion of writer’s block to me is something of a social construction. I believe things happen – or don’t happen – for a reason. Sounds like you’re a bit like me. Rather than sweat it, just rotate your activities and interests. When you come back to A from E, it will be fresh.

  7. babl says:

    Thanks for writing nice post. I am reblogging this valuable post. 🙂

  8. JoAnna says:

    I appreciate the reassurance about going indie. I’ve never had writer’s block. Writer’s confusion, yes, but never block.

  9. Christy B says:

    Great reasons here to explain writer’s block. I think sometimes I expect too much of myself.. which makes me unproductive in the end, even if I try hard :S

  10. Sheron says:

    Interesting blog. Sometimes when I’m starting a new book, the ideas have to marinate in my head a bit before they can escape onto paper.

  11. Pingback: Breaking Down the Wall | Leigh Holland Writes!

Leave a Reply

